About Us

Club members at Castlehead Field Study Centre, October 2019

Hoylake Photographic Society, founded 1950,  welcomes visitors and prospective new members to its club based at Newton Village Hall in Grange Cross Lane, West Kirby, Wirral, CH48 8BJ.  We are a friendly and sociable group of amateur photographers with a shared interest in the art of photography and the advancement of our skills.  Originally the society met at the Conservative Club in Hoylake, then at a number of different venues, before settling into our present home – Newton Village Hall in West Kirby.  

At the moment we are only meeting via zoom

Normally we meet every Friday evening from 7.30 for 7.45 until 10pm from September through to May, there’s a varied programme of expert guest speakers, photo presentations and club competitions with the aim of stimulating, educating or simply enjoying the photography of some of the best amateur photographers in the UK. The club also meets on alternate Wednesday evenings for informal tutorials and to view and receive constructive critique of our images.

You are invited to browse this website to find out more about the club, what sort of things happen at our meetings, what competitions take place, what those bewildering initials mean and so on.  Member galleries and member websites can be found on this website.  Find our Facebook page here.


(with email links)

President: Diana Magor, APSA MPSA EFIAP/b LRPS BPE3* CPAGB

President Elect

Past President: Anthony Clarke

Secretary: Sue Freeman

Treasurer: Lyn Rostron

Competitions Secretary


External Competitions Secretary

Syllabus Secretary:

John Sixsmith, EPSA ABPE EFIAP/p

Committee Members

Pete Larkin CPAGB

Les Pickstock

Margaret Sixsmith, EPSA EFIAP/p FBPE

Mike Waring